I’m here!

Well, all, I’m here at the Louisiana Center for the Blind. Its been a while, so I’ll take a minute to update you. 

I finished my visit with my Oxford friends and went to Dayton to see another. Most of the weekend was spent being lazy, but it was good girl time. After nearly missing my bus on Monday night, I arrived back at my apartment to finish packing and straightening up before my trip. 

Tuesday morning was much too early for this girl. After only six hours of sleep, I was really feeling it. I checked and rechecked everything, and, at 10:00, I was out the door. A wonderful friend from church gave me a ride, and I was at the airport in no time. I had a lot of stuff with me, so this time I opted to use airport assistance to get to my gate. Thankfully, the Delta representative who weighed my bags was nice and let one of them slide through, even though it was a bit overweight (let’s not talk about the fact that I can’t pack very well.) I got to the gate with plenty of time to spare, and got on the plane with no issues. As we took off, I felt a panicked feeling surge into my chest. I hate to fly, and always think of why every movement of the plane feels wrong. But all went well and we landed safely in Atlanta. The layover was long, only shortened by the fact that I had to switch concourses. I did not realize how huge that airport was. The second leg of the trip went quite well and I landed in Monroe. After retrieving my bags, I rode to the center. I was so tense and excited I could barely talk. I got to my apartment, met my roommate, and unpacked. I fell exhausted onto my bed that night and slept like a baby. 

     Today was my first day at the center. The bus for new students picked me up at 7:30 and we rode to the center. I was nervous to see the attitudes of people at the center about my dog, since we aren’t allowed to work with them when we are using out canes. This is a definite bit of bad news for me, but everyone loved Dallas. I spent the morning filling out paperwork and getting a tour of the center. I went to McDonnald’s for lunch and then had two classes: tech and Braille. I know that I already know a lot about these things, but I think I can take that foundation and make myself that much stronger. Finally, I went grocery shopping. I brought it all home to the apartment and went to dinner with my roommate and her uncle, who was here on a visit. And now, I sit here, writing to you all. It’s getting a bit late and I still have an Apple event keynote to listen to. Nobody spoil it. Off I go. More tomorrow, as the real training begins. 

One thought on “I’m here!

  1. Glad you were able to see Abb. God I miss her so much… anyways, look forward to reading about your experiences. Especially as they relate to Dallas. And I wasn’t wowed by the Apple keynote for whatever that’s worth… probably nobody cares, but oh well.

    Like

Leave a comment