Woot! First post!

Bear with me, folks, I’ve never done this before. I’ve decided that I’m going to start blogging about my life experiences as a blind person. What a perfect time to do this. I’ve just gotten a new apartment in a new city, and I’m getting ready to go to the Louisiana Center for the Blind to attend some of the best training this country has to offer. Of course, I have my trusty guide dog Dallas at my side through this whole adventure. So today’s post is just to test this whole thing out. It’s getting late, and I’ll go to bed soon, church in the morning, but I wanted to get this first post off. Oh, naughty puppy, what do I hear you doing? Oh boy, he’s not coming when called. If I have to walk in there, sir, and grab your collar, it’s going to be bad. One more chance, mister, before Mama comes running.With a shake of the head and jingle of tags, I hear a snorty labby walk into the room. He’s not over at the bed just yet. I ask him again. “Dallas, come.” Finally, a cold nose touches me. Naughty lab has finally listened. Praise, and a promise for extensive obedience routines to come. Oh, living with this little troublemaker is the best. And now he’s staring at me, as if he couldn’t possibly have done something wrong… Honest, Mom, I didn’t do anything! I’m too innocent for that! Ah well, it’s park time for the puppy, so off I go to do that, and then off to an early bedtime with Gray’s Anatomy on the Netflix, the air conditioner cranked, because Lord knows it’s humid outside, and a cuddly yellow Lab by my side. Don’t hate… I do let him on the bed. But he does understand and obey the off command, so I’m not worried. Off I go, all, and good night. 

Leave a comment